There has been a flood of phishing email, coming from multiple sources with varying From: addresses, that says:
Dear user of the his.com mailing service!
We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox (xyz@his.com) settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link:
http://his.com/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email=xyz@his.com&from=his.com&fromname=xyz
Best regards, his.com Technical Support.
These are not from us. The real-looking link in the message actually takes you to a server in the U.K. where you’re asked to enter your login information. When you do that, you’ve been phished, and they know your email account username and password.
Our spam filters (and Postini’s) are usually very good at stopping this sort of thing, but more of these actually got through than usual, so be on the lookout. Our spam filters have automatically adjusted and most of these are being stopped now, but quite a few got through earlier today.
Update: we’re now seeing similar message that has an attached .zip file:
Dear user of the xyz.com mailing service!
We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox info@xyz.com settings were changed.
In order to apply the new set of settings open zip attached file.
Best regards, xyz Technical Support.
Opening the zip file will infect your computer (especially if you aren’t up to date with your antivirus software (up to date = daily updates).